Veloria in Velvet
IMG_0612

Alive!

Have you guys enjoyed the series of photo shoots with Sarah Ferris (last seen @ Restore and Deliverance)?  Today’s post is the final outfit of a 3 outfit fashion session that I did with Sarah.  If you’ve liked her artistic style and the way she magically captures the sunset, please be sure to check more of her work out at her photography website, Surrmajo Fotografia, or her blog.

In retrospect, as I was looking back at these photos, this outfit was unfortunately a bit of a miss for me 😦 .  While I am a huge fan of peplum and flared full skirts…and peplum OVER full skirts to increase the drama…I really should’ve belted the outfit.  Being only 5’2”, I see now that this silhouette consumes me, and it really needed to be cinched in at the waist to create some shape.  Instead, I look a little preggers…which I’m not…yet…I dont’ think :P.  That’s ok….I don’t always get it 100% right.  That’s why we  need incredibly talented photographer friends, like Sarah, who can always capture the beauty, no matter the circumstance, in a photo 🙂

IMG_0644IMG_0614IMG_0577IMG_0568IMG_0547IMG_0566IMG_0546IMG_0550IMG_0588IMG_0538IMG_0590IMG_0650IMG_0592IMG_0596IMG_0534 (1)IMG_0605IMG_0666 (1)Lace peplum top: Zara (similar: here, here, here)

Skirt: Style by Marina (sold out) (pretty options: here, here, & here)

Stripe blazer: Zara (options: here & here)

Lime suede heels: ASOS (similar: here & here)

Purse: Louis Vuitton (Speedy 40)

Necklaces: J.Crew, Hautelook (here), and Randolph Street Market

Lipstick: NARS (Jungle Red)

Keep up to date with all things Veloria in Velvet by following me @

FACEBOOK // INSTAGRAM // TWITTER // TUMBLR // BLOGLOVIN

This entry was published on June 26, 2013 at 8:00 am. It’s filed under Blazers, Date Night, Necklaces, Office Attire, Peplum, Print & Patterns, Purses, Skirts, Stilettos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

54 thoughts on “Alive!

  1. OMG I love every single piece you put to achieve this look…..the blazer, the lace top, the skirt & most esp. the NECKLACE!!!

    Rebecca
    http://www.redtagchiclosangeles.com

  2. It’s nice to see you smile 🙂 A beautiful play on white,black, and gray colors – my personal favorites!

    • hahaha…I know…I usually look too serious right? I’m the first to admit, I’m no model. In fact, I’m really awkward in front of a camera 😛 But Sarah is so good at directing and making me laugh, that the photos come out so natural!!

  3. This is one of my favorite looks that you’ve posted! I love all of it!

  4. I love your skirt 🙂

    xoxo

    Piera Anastasia

  5. You look stunning (def not preggers) and like you are having so much fun! Her pics really are great and I am loving that nautical blazer!

    xx Cara

    • So many people keep asking if I’m pregnant yet…I think I’m having a complex or something 😛
      We were having a lot of fun on the shoot…Sarah (photographer) is so good at directing her subjects (which I REALLY need because I’m so awkward in front of a camera). She made me look so natural, and she really knows how to capture the scenery and the sunlight.

  6. I cant believe you dont love this look! I sure do! I can see what you mean in a few photos… when you put a hand on your hip or have the jacket on (which gives more shape) you look fantastic! All it needs is a simple belt 😉 PS- What a fun spot to shoot at! Looks so lush & green!
    xo,
    Danielle
    http://www.envisionpretty.blogspot.com

  7. You look elegant and the photos very beautiful with the green BG.

  8. vogueandheels on said:

    These pictures are so cute!! I love that top and the necklace, so pretty 🙂

    -Vogue&Heels
    http://www.vogueandheels.com

  9. Umm, I love this outfit, especially that blazer! So chic! I also really like how you layered the necklaces. 🙂

  10. Cute necklaces! Love your blazer and skirt.

    Aetherlily.net

  11. Wow, those necklaces are so stunning! I am definitely a jewelry fan, and I love how you layered them. Cute outfit!

    http://www.stepinsidemycloset.com

  12. This is such a fabulous look! I love this! You look stunning and elegant! Love everything!

    xo, Kenya

  13. So chic! I love this!

    xo Saretta
    The Lion in Jewels
    http://thelioninjewels.com

  14. I just love your layered baubles! so pretty and fun!

  15. Hey, Veloria! Good job:-)..Love this skirt and blazer….Love, Claudine RO

  16. AMAZING STYLE LOVELY YOU!! great blog!! visit mine to!!
    http://docdivatraveller.blogspot.in/

  17. It would look good with a belt, but I don’t think it looks bad without one~ and you certainly don’t look preggers! Lovely pictures and outfit, as always!

  18. I actually LOVE it! The textures… the mixed prints… I don’t think it consumes you at all. 🙂

    http://www.pursuitofshoes.com

  19. Jessica on said:

    I love the mix of prints and textures! Gorgeous photos too!
    ~Jessica
    Jeans and a Teacup

  20. I love your outfit, and you don’t look pregnant at all! I can’t wear a peplum well, so I’m envious that you look so terrific in one! Your hair is pretty phenomenal as well. 😉 I’m enjoying your blog, and thanks so much for the nice comment you left on my outfit post. 🙂

  21. Pingback: Veloria and Lucky Magazine feature #2 | surrmajo fotografia

  22. Such a lovely top and i adore the necklace combo!! 🙂
    XOXO Kasia
    http://misskasia.blogspot.com

  23. This outfit is so perfect I love every single piece.

  24. Wow!!! This look is awesome and perfect!! I love all your garments. The top and the skirt together look like a dress, they match perfectly!!Love them!! xoxo

  25. This is SOOO stunning! Love everything about it! Hugs from Cali! xx The Golden Girls

  26. Love this outfit!! Such a chic look! Hope you are having a wonderful day!
    -Jyoti
    Style-Delights Blog

  27. The outfit still looks great, belt or no belt! It is more like a shift dress look then cinched!

    Jacqueline
    http://www.purelypeanut.com

Leave a Reply

