Veloria in Velvet

Summer breeze

With Chicago’s temperatures rising back up into the 90s, I couldn’t resist doing one last super summery post 😛 .  I really wanted to do something near the water.  All summer long, I hadn’t been to the beach (thus the pale skin), so I figured this was my last chance.

Whenever I go to the beach, I usually just wear a tee and shorts over my bikini.  I’ve just never found a really nice and unique coverup…has anyone else had this problem, or is it just me?  So when Jordan Taylor came along and showed me their collection, I was like…perfect!!  The collection is filled with gorgeous colors, prints, and ombre…and you know that’s right up my alley.  So I chose this beautiful peacock print, high-low maxi coverup.  And the best part?  You can utilize it more than just at the beach!  Stay tuned next week to see how I style it for a night out 🙂

IMG_5484 IMG_5491 IMG_5498 IMG_5495 IMG_5535 IMG_5511

IMG_5552 IMG_5500 IMG_5534 IMG_5540

IMG_5544 (1)

IMG_5536 IMG_5506 IMG_5518 IMG_5537 IMG_5541 (2) IMG_5548 IMG_5551

IMG_5526 (1) IMG_5553

In case you couldn’t tell, these amazing photos were taken by the lovely Sarah of Surrmajo Fotografia.  Check her out at her photography website, Surrmajo Fotografia, or her blog.

Peacock print cover up: Jordan Taylor (c/o)
You can also find them on Twitter, Instagram, & Facebook @ JordanTaylorInc

Chevron high waist bikini: top & bottom via ASOS

Pink Sandals: Dolce Vita

Purse: Thursday Friday

Sunglasses: Tory Burch

Lips: MAC (Candy Yum Yum)

Keep up to date with all things Veloria in Velvet by following me @
FACEBOOK // INSTAGRAM // TWITTER // TUMBLR // BLOGLOVIN

This entry was published on September 12, 2013 at 9:40 am. It’s filed under Casual, Dresses, Print & Patterns, Purses, Sunglasses and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

46 thoughts on “Summer breeze

  1. Beautiful end of summer dress! The peacock feather print is gorgeous – especially love the colors!

    xx
    The Fancy Pants Report

  2. Stop being so gorgeous! That dress/coverup is stunning on you. The colors are so pretty. I’ll definitely have to check out that photographer’s blog. I have a thing for going through photographs taken by talented people!

    Have a great day!
    Grace
    A Southern Drawl

  3. Gorgeous, gorgeous! I have a weakness for peacock prints. 🙂

    The heat wave JUST broke here in KC; we’re cooling off (slowly but surely).

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com

  4. Beautiful dress!! I love the peacock print and their great colors. These photos are really awesome near the water and the pink sandals are perfect! xoxo

  5. I am loving this dress! I really love peacock prints, so this is right up my alley. And of course, so are bright colors! I love it! And, like you, I’m posting my (hopefully) last summer dress today. I decided to finally give up my layers and embrace the fact that it’s still 90 here!! Great post!

    • Thank you!!! Peacock is such a great mix of everything right?? It is crazy how it’s gotten so hot again…I just think that Chicago can’t decide what it wants to do 😛 I’m not quite ready to let go of summer yet…b/c I know the harsh cold winter we’ll have to look forward to…but I do love fall 🙂

  6. So easy, breezy and beautiful. I love this look, Madeline!

    xoxo,
    Alina
    http://stylebyalina.com/floral-summer-dress/

  7. I have the same problem with beach cover-ups, things never quite work out and I end up in a tank and shorts 🙂 This is a very beautiful dress and I can see how it can work for the beach. I love a high-low hem, somehow it always makes me feel taller. I can’t wait to see how you dress it up for the night!

  8. These photos are so beautiful! So versatile, turning the cover-up into an everyday dress 🙂

    xoxo,
    E
    refined couture 

  9. Great dress)

    mary-tur.ru

  10. Stylish + Scatterbrained on said:

    I love this dress! I was totally the same way! I never had a cute cover-up and actually ended up finding one by chance at Forever21 last week right before our trip to Vegas…definitely not as gorgeous as this one though! I love the colors and you look stunning in it! Those sandals are super-cute too! Can’t wait to see how you style this for night!

  11. Great minds, I almost got this print but decided on the ombre. You look amazing and I love the backdrop!

    PS Is this the first time I’ve seen you in flats? They totally work for you:)

    xx Cara

    • It’s a good thing you chose another one…it looks like a lot of bloggers chose this one 😛 Yea…this is the first in flats…you won’t see me in them too often. Not all of us are as tall and statuesque as you!! In fact, before leaving to take the photos, I asked Sarah if I should wear my espadrille wedges or the sandals…she chose the sandals 🙂

  12. Gorgeous!! I love the print, it’s perfect for a coverup!

    heyniki.wordpress.com

  13. Love the peacock pattern! The pink sandals are a fun touch!

    xo
    ChaChaTheFashionGenius.com

  14. ❤ the print!!! So gorgeous and so summery! Gosh its so beautiful on you Veloria!! And those sandals are adorable!!!

    Visit me @ http://willfullyelegant.wordpress.com

  15. Did peacock print just become my new favorite animal print? This dress could do it for me! I love all the wonderful colors and you look amazing! Can’t wait to see how you style it for night. 🙂 xoxo

  16. Beautiful look!Your blog is lovely!!!! Would you like to follow each other on bloglovin’ ? xxx
    Gleaming Spire // Bloglovin’

  17. beautiful you!!!

  18. This is beautiful, I can never find a good cover up, I wish I found this when I went to Vegas a few weeks ago! I just wore some peacock earrings, the pattern is so exotic. Finally we get some fall weather, Green Bay has been super hot as well so I wore a lot of summery pieces the last few days, but I can’t wait for fall. You look great. 🙂

    xo GS*:.
    http://middayspritzer.wordpress.com/
    Fall Fashion: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cyux5s2FXtk&feature=youtu.be

    • Oh this would’ve been PERFECT for vegas!! You could’ve doubled it up as a coverup and then as a dress for dinner 🙂 Yea…it’s been hot in Chicago too…but starting to cool down again. I’m sad to see summer go…but I do love the fall 🙂

  19. I am totally in love with this print. It is so beautiful and gorgeous.

  20. Beautiful outfit for a late summer day 🙂 xx

  21. I LOVE you in this dress!! It’s so fun seeing other bloggers style this dress 🙂 Your pictures make me wish summer was starting all over again!! ❤ Hope you had a wonderful weekend!

    xx,
    Christine
    http://www.thefashionpledge.com

  22. You are attractive in beach cover-ups.
    Good ideal for me in the next holiday.
    Love it. Your photos are adorable.

  23. Love this dress so much. It looks airy fabric and love the print too. Such a perfect pairing with the neon sandals

  24. Fabulous dress!! I couldn’t help but notice the bag! It’s adorable!
    Xo, Carey
    http://www.careywatanabe.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

